The Boldt Castle website provides a history of the castle.

At the time, George C. Boldt, the multibillionaire owner of the renowned Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City, set out to construct a miniature Renaissance castle in Alexadian Bay, the island known as the “Heart Island.” He intended for the grandiose sculpture to be an expression of his love for his wife, LoÅise.

Beginning in 1900, the Boldt family sent shepherds to the 1000 islands at the Boldt Families Wellesley House near Mr. Boldt’s Wellesley Island Farms. A total of 300 laborers, including carpenters, painters, and sculptors, furnished the six-story, 120-room castle, which included turrets, a powerhouse, Italian garderobes, a drawbridge, a alther tower (a children’s playhouse), and a dovecote. Not a single detail or experience escaped scrutiny.

January 1904 was a tragic month. Boldt sent a telegraph to the island instructing the workmen to “stop all constrυctio¿ immediately.” Sadly, Loise had passed away. Without his beloved, Boldt could not imagine his dream palace. He was heartbroken. As a result of his devotion, Boldt never returned to the island, leaving his shadow behind.

The castle and several other steeplescapes were abandoned to the whims of the ice, wind, rain, and monsters for seventy-three years. When the Thomas Jefferson Islands Bridge Authority purchased the land in 1977, it was agreed that it would be safeguarded for the enjoyment of future generations through the sale of all estate remnants from the castle’s operations.

Since 1977, millions of dollars have been spent on renovating, rehabilitating, and improvising the Heart Island structures.

These days, Boldt Castle may be reached from Alexandria Bay, New York, Claytown, New York, Georgia-Oqυe, Ontario, Rockport, Ontario, and Ivy Lea, Ontario, via ferry, private boat, or towr boat. The public can explore the majority of the gardens and sculptures for a charge. The public boat docking area at Heart Island is likewise free of charge. A single customs officer oversees the wood-stratified U.S. Customs and Border Protection office on Heart Island, and visitors from Cuba must present the necessary documentation because visiting the island is regarded as entering the United States.

As of 2011, the majority of the first floor and second floor rooms of Boldt Castle are furnished, albeit primarily with moderate pieces. With a pool, bowling alleys, many compartments, and a long passageway leading to the Power House, the basement is primarily furnished. From the second floor to the top floor, the majority of the rooms have been left unfurnished; nevertheless, several of these rooms and hallways feature displays featuring pictures and artifacts from the ThoŅsaÿd Islands region, depicting the historical period in which the Boldts resided. Additionally, many chambers are left unfurnished to allow the visitor to imagine the castle’s appearance prior to renovation.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here